Last Updated: Oct 8, 2014
- exploring possible topics ideas
- getting some background on a topic
- identifying keywords
- citations for additional sources.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources. Searchable across all titles. A great place to START your research for most topics.
- CQ Researcher
Unbiased reports on current events; includes health, criminal justice, environment & technology. Excellent for topic ideas and full reports that include an overview, current status, a chronology and citations to more resources
- Wikipedia - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
NEVER cite Wikipedia as a source in an academic paper...unless Wikipedia, itself, is being discussed :)
Look at the references given and follow up with those sources.
These library databases consist primarily of articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers. The focus of the articles is usually very narrow so what they are good for is finding more specific information to "flesh out" whatever general information you found on your topic.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database from EBSCO provides full text for more than 8,500 journals. Good place to start for finding a scholarly article.
- EBSCO Databases
Search individual databases or multiple databases for articles in journals, magazines or newspapers.
- Gale Databases
Most databases are similar to those provided by EBSCO but may contain some articles full-text from different sources. Also has specialized databases that RCC subscribes to.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (GALE)
Essays on current, controversial issues. Pro/con debate. Statistics, news & articles.
- Criminal Justice Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
Law enforcement, criminal justice, psychology and social issues.
- LexisNexis Academic
Newspapers, legal documents, public records & business information. Good for current statistics and commentary.
RVC Reference Desk: 541-245-7522 (if no answer call the RVC Circulation Desk: 541-245-7512)
RVC & TRC
Mon., Wed. & Thurs.
12:00 - 7:30pm
Mon. & Wed.
Research Paper Style Basics
- Last Updated Mar 5, 2015
A how-to guide for time saving tips in formatting and organizing your research, including APA style help and MLA style help
3,747 views this year
WR122 Topic Resources
- Last Updated Apr 2, 2015
Resources for assigned topics from previous classes. Handy for topic ideas and a starting point for library resources on those topics.
234 views this year
WR122 - Riverside Campus
- Last Updated Jan 28, 2015
A guide to formatting, documenting, and finding sources for WR122 research papers.
1,411 views this year